Understanding English Football Divisions.

English football leagues are very competitive. Here are the top divisions.

Premier League

This is the top flight league in English football which consists of 20 clubs. The competition comprises of a two-leg season. The bottom three clubs are always relegated to the EFL Championship. The team which wins the title gets a chance to play with the FA Cup winner competing for the community shield. The four top clubs get a chance to play in Europe’s elite competition, the UEFA Champions’ League, while the fifth and sixth teams participate in the UEFA

Europa League.

49 different clubs have participated in the Premier League since 1992. It has been won by only six different teams; Manchester United (13), Chelsea (5), Manchester City (4), Arsenal (3), Blackburn Rovers (1), and Leicester City (1). Manchester City holds the record for most points in one season (100) in 2017/18 and are the current champions.

EFL Championship

This division consists of 24 clubs. Three are promoted to the Premier League, and three are relegated to League One. Each season the two top teams are promoted automatically, and the third to sixth place enter a playoff tournament whose winner joins the Premier League. The clubs with the most championships are Newcastle, Reading, Sunderland, and Wolverhampton Wanderers with two titles each. Norwich are the current champions.

EFL League One

This league began in 2004 and consists of 24 clubs. The top three clubs are promoted to the championship, and the bottom four are relegated to League Two. The two top clubs get a direct promotion while the third is picked from a playoff. Currently, Walsall holds the longest tenure in League One. The current champions are Luton Town.

EFL League Two

League Two is the fourth highest division in English football. It consists of 24 clubs. Out of the 24, four are promoted, and two are relegated. The current champions are Lincoln City. The league was introduced in the 2004/05 season.